Concerning E. M. Forster by
Examines previously unscrutinized aspects of English novelist E. M. Forster's life and work, raising the question of how he maintained his position in the world of English letters despite a lack of close acquaintance with his contemporaries.
The Cambridge Companion to E. M. Forster by
A collection of essays on the life and work of E. M. Forster.
English Novelists by
Contains alphabetically arranged entries that profile English novelists, discussing their lives, achievements, and important works.
Please use MSJ username ( mtstjoseph ) and password ( gaels ) to login remotely.
"gods" articles:
British Writers
Critical Survey of Short Fiction by
This is the second edition of a seven-volume set that adds 133 authors to the original 347 in the 1993 version. Essays vary in length, with none shorter than 2,000 words and many much longer. Each provides ready-reference top matter (including full birth and death data, full listings of literary works by genre, and bibliographical sources) and is divided into the following subdivisions: principal short fiction, other literary forms, achievements, biography, analysis (overview of themes, techniques, and development of the author's work), story/collection overviews, other major works, bibliography, and contributor's byline. Included are essays that survey the development of short fiction through history and discuss theory and world cultures; also included are research tools, a short-fiction chronology, a bibliography, and recipients of major awards. The set contains about 350 portraits of the authors covered. Entries are arranged alphabetically
Short Story Writers by
A three-volume reference work offers essays on the most frequently studied authors, topics, and events, including profiles of 102 of the most taught and most researched short story writers.
